Phone Gap help wanted

I wasn’t sure how to categorize this because while I collaboration is a bit off the mark, I didn’t want to create a new category just for one post.
What I am looking is not so much collaborate as get assistance. I’m just getting into Phone Gap and I was hoping there might be someone (or someones) who could sit down with me and give me some starting pointers. I have a specific project I’m working on, which I previously made in App Inventor, that I want to redo in Phone Gap. It’s very simple so it seemed like a good starting place for (me) learning something new.

Thanks
• Robb

Hey Robb - there are a handful of us who have used Phone Gap / Cordova recently and could help.

Could you tell us a little more about the project?

Does the interface already exist as a web app somewhere online?

I’m not familiar with app inventor, so I’m not sure how easy it would be to port it. If App Inventor uses HTML/CSS/JS then it will be easy.

Chris et al,
I built the original app in App Inventor which downloads the apk to the phone. While I’ve read you can pry that open I believe all one gets is Java, which won’t be helpful.
That said I mentioned the previous app only because it’s a model to work from. That said it’s dead simple: it just a “clicker” as in two buttons for counting.
What I’m really looking for is someone who can give me a quick tutorial on how to handle events, callbacks, etc. While my Javascript skills are fair I am completely unfamiliar with using them for apps. So help would be greatly appreciated and repaid in beverage of choice.

Here’s a primer to callbacks in JavaScript, using setTimeout(<function>, ms) as a primary example

var callback = function() {
     console.log('Timer done!');
}
setTimeout(callback, 500);

A simple example via StackOverflow.